my 8 books of 2015

“The person you become in 5 years is based on the books you read today.”

By the beginning of July last year, I figured that’s probably the thing I owe to myself: more personal time, more reading. Here goes my list of 8 books that I loved and how or where I read them. If you want recommendations, they’re all over the internet.

  1. The Outsider – Albert Camus
    My close friend got me this book before I took off to see my sisters. I finished it during the deadly London Montreal route. The thing with Camus is absurdism, and I find his writings in general nice and thought-provoking.
  2. The Pocket Aristotle
    I got this book as a birthday gift in 2014, it’s a 1946 edition I believe. I value old books and tend to fear approaching them or breaking their pages apart.
  3. The Forty Rules of Love – Elif Shafak
    I had to begin reading for Shafak so I thought I start with this and then move on to The Gaze and The Bastard of Istanbul.
  4. Breakfast with Socrates – Robert Rowland Smith
    Someone I don’t love at all got me this book so I prejudged and couldn’t complete it, till once it tickled my brain so much I sat and went through it, it was beautiful.
  5. The Elephant Vanishes – Haruki Murakami
    I had to begin reading for Murakami, and 1Q84 looked impossible to finish. I wanted to understand the fuss about the Japanese author, so I went from Kafka on the Shore – which is amazing – to this. 2016 has 1Q84 on the list.
  6. Damn Good Advice – George Lois
    Typical agency life and mindsets, you will like it if you like Paul Arden and his books. I recall my sister got me this book.
  7. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han
    I finished this book in two days, too much like me. I got it after I started liking more casual readings like Perks of Being a Wallflower, and I was astonished to find that the character is called Lara, it rarely happens.
  8. Eleanor & Park – Rainbow Rowell
    I have to admit it looked cheesy from the cover, but I didn’t judge. A very beautiful colleague got me this book, I finished it in a week, and I liked more books like it and -7- above. Casual, fun and something I can relate to.

IMG_20160110_224730.jpg

Leave a Reply

